The Ultimate Nerd & Eagle CPA
The Eagle CPA Ultimate Nerd Podcast
Frag Out - Hand Grenades & Group Dynamics
--:--
--:--

Frag Out - Hand Grenades & Group Dynamics

“So It's Gonna Be Forever Or It's Gonna Go Down In Flames. You Can Tell Me When It's Over, If The High Was Worth The Pain.” — Taylor Swift

What’s this all about?

Someone should say something, this is getting out of hand.

If I stay still and pretend I’m asleep, maybe they’ll leave me alone.

Hey! I’m calling 911!

Team building is hard. In the group you’ve got different populations. This list is by no means all inclusive. I wouldn’t necessarily listen to me. I could barely manage a car wash.

You’ve got a group who will look at you as a competitor. You may bring good ideas, but they’re your ideas. So to hell with supporting you. If anything, they’ll sabotage you.

You have another group who just wants to show up, come in, and do the work. They don’t want to get involved in those contributing or those sabotaging. They’re dependable in a sense that they’ll meet expectations.

Finally, the unsung heroes. The ones who want to be led, but also taken seriously. They come off as timid many times, but they haven’t gotten to the apathy stage of group 2 above. These people have great ideas.

Key to Success: You can do the work, you can sell the work, you can outwork the work. Pick two of those three and you’ll do just fine. Terry C.

When your heart is in it, and your intentions are as pure as a human’s can be, people will still think you’re the worst.

Do good anyway.

That’s the synopsis. Primary sources for inspiration of this post are at the bottom of this thread below the desktop heading. If you’re intrigued, read on.

Thank you for reading.

Please give me the opportunity to be wrong. I’m looking for your help to provide feedback, guidance, and support. Please let me know how this engages you. You can do a thing. I can do a thing. Together we can do great things. Please consider subscribing, liking, sharing, tweeting, texting, forwarding, faxing, printing, snail mail, & airborne leaflet propaganda. It just needs to catch the Forward Flu (go viral).

Scroll up or all the way down for the love, subscribe and share options. I’m trying to trigger (prompt) you to do something.

All email subscribers and tweets mentioning @dimeouncpa will be entered to receive a coffee break @Starbucks gift card through @alwayssaythnks please consider sharing and tweeting! Drawing weekly on Monday.

Please consider supporting this work by contributing to the New Wheels - Mobility Campaign.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/new-wheels-improved-mobility/x/28686163?utm_medium=email&utm_source=lifecycle&utm_campaign=#/


The Good stuff:

Those that can’t do, teach. Those who can do work at Hydroblast.

I personally feel mastery of a subject is gained when you can teach it to someone else who can then, because of your efforts transfer that knowledge to someone else.

MLM’s and religion.

I’ve had a lot of jobs. At 14 I went to work at Wendy’s shoveling fries and working the drive thru. At 21 I started a brick and mortar car detailing shop. At 24 I spent the next three years operating various types of forklifts for two different companies. At 39 I drove a brown package car for UPS. Most of the last 13 years I’ve worked as an accountant. Sixteen years If you include my period of studying.

I seem like a job jumper. But I did manage to stay at one job for almost seven years.

How old are you?

It’s rude to ask that question. What are you an ageist?

I mentioned in my last post humility. It actually is a great trait. In all the times I’ve been in a new place with new people, staying quiet and teachable especially in the early phase usually works out better than if you bust through the door guns a blazing!

Twenty years of armed conflicts.

Improvements in battlefield medicine improved the outcomes for many more casualties when compared to prior conflicts.

Nothing’s too good for veterans. So nothing is what they’ll get.

Trauma. I’m not a counselor, but there are resources for people to get well. You just have to reach out your heart.

My Apple Music today queued up the following song by Baz Luhrmann, "Everybody's Free (To Wear Sunscreen)".

https://music.apple.com/us/album/everybodys-free-to-wear-sunscreen-edit/724861462?i=724861876

Which apparently is influenced by the essay “Wear Sunscreen” by Mary Schmich.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wear_Sunscreen

This is pretty good stuff. It should have been the millennial version of “On the Road.”

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/70401

Maybe it will be. Our history is just getting started. I will say I won’t ever fantasize that politicians in my life were noble.

Hillary, it is not sex. Written in the dirt on the back of a semi. Along with a giant phallic image.

I miss you Dustin.

You can tell a lot by a person on how well they treat those they don’t have to treat well.

Pot and the Kettle.

I witnessed an intern call a waitress a bitch over something so inconsequential that in earlier days he would have gotten slapped.

Custodians and Commanders.

You learn to listen and communicate and you’ll find we’re all pretty similar. It’s just a question of who has read more, wha has had more resources, and who just had their timing right. Or a combination of all three.

I heard some other career advice.

Don’t buy up. - Don’t buy your boss drinks or lunch. I assume don’t compliment them as well. But maybe kissing ass is important.

PIE.

P - erformance
I - mage
E - xperience

Let the job come to you.

I mentioned I managed a car wash. And owned one. Besides the buy up advice, I have no tangible evidence that any of this works.

I think humility is still important.

I bought a drink for a national partner at the Q center and by the look on his face you would have thought I had just exposed myself. In a way I did. He wanted a drink and I was having a lot of fun hanging out with him and other colleagues. So I met his immediate needs. I probably would have to ask next time he’s on fire if it would be okay to urinate on him.

I was also a manger, but as far as details go I didn’t do anything . Part of it was Covid and the other part was being in an environment that I knew going in, wasn’t a good match.

I was underperforming and overpaid.

My next job I over performed and was underpaid.

Karma might be real. But I’ll have to ask my Buddhist friend for clarification.

Mantras.

CEO Attitude- I don’t remember what it meant.


The man was a former professional athlete. His son was thinking about attending my alma mater. We shared some nice conversation at Joe Louis arena.

I need to make money off of TED talks.

An interesting thing I’ve learned in my career is about gossip media in industry.

In accounting they have the Going Concern blog. I love my awesome nerds.

https://www.goingconcern.com

At UPS they have Brown Cafe.

https://www.browncafe.com/

Basically these are back door places to see how some people really feel about the job. There’s probably good information in all the mire. There’s some funny stuff too. At one of these blogs a commenter, without fail, would always poke fun at one firms CEO, chipper or some damn thing. It was hilarious. That firm incidentally was one of the best training environments I’ve ever been in.

When your heart is in it, and your intentions are as pure as a human’s can be, people will still think you’re the worst.

Do it anyway. People will see your needs and will want to help. It’s okay to communicate what needs are current opportunities. Whether that be asking for resources and/ or guidance.

Sometimes you’ll get discouraged. Sometimes you’ll want to quit.

Nasrudin was caught in the act and sentenced to die. Hauled up before the king, he was asked by the Royal Presence: "Is there any reason at all why I shouldn't have your head off right now?" To which he replied: "Oh, King, live forever! Know that I, the mullah Nasrudin, am the greatest teacher in your kingdom, and it would surely be a waste to kill such a great teacher. So skilled am I that I could even teach your favorite horse to sing, given a year to work on it." The king was amused, and said: "Very well then, you move into the stable immediately, and if the horse isn't singing a year from now, we'll think of something interesting to do with you."

As he was returning to his cell to pick up his spare rags, his cellmate remonstrated with him: "Now that was really stupid. You know you can't teach that horse to sing, no matter how long you try." Nasrudin's response: "Not at all. I have a year now that I didn't have before. And a lot of things can happen in a year. The king might die. The horse might die. I might die.

"And, who knows? Maybe the horse will sing."

http://www-personal.umich.edu/~jlawler/aue/sig.html

The captain. Cpt. Sap - Deserves a medal of freedom. No one will hear of his heroics.

Thank you for reading.

Please give me the opportunity to be wrong. I’m looking for your help to provide feedback, guidance, and support. Please let me know how this engages you. You can do a thing. I can do a thing. Together we can do great things. Please consider subscribing, liking, sharing, tweeting, texting, forwarding, faxing, printing, snail mail, & airborne leaflet propaganda. It just needs to catch the Forward Flu (go viral).

Scroll up or all the way down for the love, subscribe and share options. I’m trying to trigger (prompt) you to do something.

All email subscribers and tweets mentioning @dimeouncpa you’ll be entered to receive a coffee break @Starbucks gift card through @alwayssaythnks please consider sharing and tweeting!

Please consider supporting this work by contributing to the New Wheels - Mobility Campaign.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/new-wheels-improved-mobility/x/28686163?utm_medium=email&utm_source=lifecycle&utm_campaign=#/


Desktop:

Most of this work was conducted on my iPhone. When I couldn’t sleep.

Currently reading: Outliers: The Story of Success, by Malcolm Gladwell

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3228917-outliers

Currently listening: That's How You Know, Nico & Vinz feat. Kid Ink & Bebe Rexha

Currently viewing: Roger & Me, Film by Michael Moore

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0098213/

Going concern blog
Brown blog

Roger and me

Romance and the medieval era.

https://lisbdnet.com/what-is-medieval-romance/

White Knights and Red Pills

Failing and Failing Forward

Trauma, Hysterics, and Historics.

Riding a rocket. The fourth dimension.

I’ll talk to you later. Yeah, If I’m still around. We did have lunch a number of years later and he provided the feedback I was missing for a long time. I thought they just didn’t have enough work for me. Turns out the perception was much worse.

P I E

CEO Attitude- I don’t remember. He was a former professional athlete. His son was thinking about attending my alma mater.

Quotes on going down in flames.

Throwing hand grenades into group dynamics.

Business cards for dating. That’s fucking genius. Linking it to a launch platform to all your various communication mediums is all it was missing.

The space between.

Cpt. Sap - Deserves a medal of freedom. No one will hear of his heroics.

Custodians and Commanders

BHAG - we haven’t even gone back to the moon and we’re talking about people on mars? The moon seems like a more realistic goal. Are the decepticons on the darkside of it or something?

Speaking of decepticons, what exactly is in this Megatron chicken? The FDA explores the processes, slaughter and butchering of our food. Upton had no idea how visionary he really was. How about the chemical composition and DNA information?

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41681

Michigan State University and Sustainable Stock Markets.

Paradigm shift.

Setup bench, power blocks,

https://music.apple.com/us/album/everybodys-free-to-wear-sunscreen-edit/724861462?i=724861876

The Martian

West Point ambitions

Booze and babes.

Air assault

Improvements in battlefield medicine.

Reinvented the wheel.

Speaking in tongues.

Can’t do the deals if you’ve got dirty heels.

God, guns, Texas and bow ties.

Don’t get mad when people use cheat codes.

Fractals and pivots.

One person’s trash is another person’s treasure.

Set up a patreon.

Hoarding documents to shred when your credit is terrible.

ID checking to pay bills.

You’re telling me you want to verify my identity to pay my bill? What if some Good Samaritan wants to pay my bill? What then?

Deliberate sabotage. If people do this to you, stay away from them if it seems habitual. Run away if it appears deliberate and premeditated.

Trauma at a YMCA camp. Steve and what’s his name.

He brought his piece to work and shared after I let him go home for lunch early. Something was up. You’re a hell of teacher Sean! Preach! He dropped me off at my car after I got too drunk and basically I had to fend for myself.

They showed me a revolver in a locker and I didn’t say anything. Five or so years before Columbine. They didn’t beat me down after I narced when I got in trouble. Is the juice worth the squeeze? Be loyal to the absent.

Confirming with a person is the highest level of assurance. Why? If they don’t enforce consequences. Why get involved?

Keep me on until you got what you wanted and left me to fend for myself. I’m lucky I made it out alive. I saw her later at Walmart. The nurse at the hospital is her sister.

The things we carry.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/133518

Robert and Me

You know they [redacted] you for that?

The book is difficult to read aloud. Not though through inner speech. It’s just a question of rhythm and breathing. Consider how long he’d been in when he wrote it. Not to mention he’s not the only author. It was a collaborative effort. The book on enterprise was brilliant writing. The book on Robert was loving in nature.

Tried kickstarter. Probably not the best site.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/new-wheels-improved-mobility/x/28686163?utm_medium=email&utm_source=lifecycle&utm_campaign=#/

This dude just winked at Emily. Right in front of me. I guess I need to do some more bench presses.

Trauma

September 11

Thank you for reading.

Please give me the opportunity to be wrong. I’m looking for your help to provide feedback, guidance, and support. Please let me know how this engages you. You can do a thing. I can do a thing. Together we can do great things. Please consider subscribing, liking, sharing, tweeting, texting, forwarding, faxing, printing, snail mail, & airborne leaflet propaganda. It just needs to catch the Forward Flu (go viral).

Scroll up or all the way down for the love, subscribe and share options. I’m trying to trigger (prompt) you to do something.

All email subscribers and tweets mentioning @dimeouncpa you’ll be entered to receive a coffee break @Starbucks gift card through @alwayssaythnks please consider sharing and tweeting!

Please consider supporting this work by contributing to the New Wheels - Mobility Campaign.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/new-wheels-improved-mobility/x/28686163?utm_medium=email&utm_source=lifecycle&utm_campaign=#/

Sean Dowd, February 28, 2022

0 Comments
The Ultimate Nerd & Eagle CPA
The Eagle CPA Ultimate Nerd Podcast
The latest and greatest from work and life.